Making plans and packing for a big trip

Now that I am back from my one-year trip across South America and am looking back at my initial plan, I realize that it was a waste of time making it.

If you truly want to enjoy travelling than go with the flow. If you decided to take off by yourself you will make friends and follow those who own Lonely Planet. Have an idea of a gringo route but just let your trip be.

Do not take two backpacks and pack only 1/3 of what you really think you’d need. Take more money.

After my first month in Costa Rica I had to ship my backpack and donate more than half of my stuff. Better leave it at home.

Sleeping bag and a tent? You really wouldn’t need it if you are travelling between Central America and Bolivia. In Chile and Argentina you might use it.

Happy travels!

Leave a Reply

